Day 9 - Cold Turkey

13 posts, 0 answered
  1. aspen_strings
    aspen_strings avatar
    1 posts
    18 Jan 2019
    18 Jan 2019
    Link to this post
    So I quit nine days ago, I've attempted this 10 or 15 times previous and failed everytime.  I've been smoking for 25 years.  I smoked a pack a day, but in the last two years I started smoking less, about 10 to 14 a day.  I've tried quitting using Nicorette gum, but I'd end up chewing it wrong and didnt like the aftertaste or tingly feeling it left in my mouth afterwards.  I also tried using the patch and had a horrible experience using that.  I would get burn marks on my skin that would be itchy for days after removing the patch.  I would also have crazy vivid nightmares.  I asked my doctor about prescribing me meds, but he refused to prescribe me anything, stating that if I was serious about quitting, the best way would be to just stop.  I have a few friends that were prescribed pills and they complained about psychological issues they experienced and how it was messing with their minds.  Of all the people I know who succeeded in quitting, they all quit the same way - cold turkey.  My doctor once told me, "changing how you get nicotine, ie. patch or gum, is not going to help you overcome your nicotine addiction.  The only way to quit is to stop".