Forums / My journey / I hope this helps someone.

I hope this helps someone.

17 posts, 1 answered
  1. fenceguy06
    fenceguy06 avatar
    2 posts
    06 Jan 2020
    05 Jan 2020
    Link to this post
    I'm a contractor and work outdoors. I can smoke whenever I like . I had smoked since 16, and decided to quit. i felt good just I couldnt control the amount smoked. it was getting out of hand at around 1.5 to 2 packs a day. tried the patch, zyban etc over the years with minimal success. so I decided to try something new. I went on lowest dose patch, and bought a vape with medium level nice in it. the patch took care of the physical and the vape took care of the mental aspect. after 2 months I stopped the patch. then every week I'd lower the dose in my juice till I was off nicotine altogether. 1 month later I stopped the vape. heres the thing. as soon as I stopped all nic I started having random heart palpitations and anxiety issues. went on anxiety meds and they stopped. after cardiologist appts, stress tests, hospital visits cuz I was sure I was a goner. long story short nicotine is a crutch we use to help deal with stress ,anxiety, sadness etc. taking it away and my body couldn't cope. I should add I'm 45 right now, lots of life to live. it's been 2 years now as of january 4th. smoke free. not 1 puff. I did try some weed when it was legal, coughed my ass off like never before but it didnt set me off. I still miss it, but its easier now to shoo that thought away. coffee doesnt taste as good, beers not the same with the guys but I feel great. trying to lose the weight now gained. it was the hardest thing I ever did but I did it. my kids say they're proud of me and that is my reward. any coughing I used to do is non existant, headaches gone, taken 2 years but my blood pressure is coming down closer to normal. if I can offer any advice it's this...get a vape, low dose nice for a few months only and go to doctors for low dose anxiety depresson meds ahead of time. so